"In Christianity, an archbishop (/ˌɑːrtʃˈbɪʃəp/, via Latin archiepiscopus, from Greek αρχιεπίσκοπος, from αρχι-, ´chief´, and επίσκοπος, ´bishop´) is a bishop of higher rank or office. In some cases, such as the Lutheran Church of Sweden and the Church of England, the title is borne by the leader of the denomination. Like popes, patriarchs, metropolitans, cardinal bishops, diocesan bishops, and suffragan bishops, archbishops are in the highest of the three traditional orders of bishops, priests (also called presbyters), and deacons. An archbishop may be granted the title or ordained as chief pastor of a metropolitan see or another episcopal see to which the title of archbishop is attached." - ( 03.11.2019)

What we know

office held

office held Johann Albrecht von Brandenburg-Ansbach-Kulmbach (1499-1551) Magdeburg 1545-1550
office held Siegfried, Prince-Archbishop of Bremen (-1184) Bremen 1179-1184
office held Vojtěch of Bohemia (1145-1200) Salzburg
office held Ottone Visconti (1207-1295) 1262-1295

Sources & Mentions

Objects and visualizations

Relations to objects

Porträt Raban von HelmstattMedaille von John Roettiers auf die Hinrichtung Erzbischof William Lauds von Canterbury, 1645Buchen, ehemalige kurmainzische Kellerei, InnenhofThomas CranmerBildnis William Laud, Erzbischof von CanterburyBildnis Denis-Auguste Affre, Erzbischof von Paris
Show objects

Relations to time periods

Show relations to time periods